Routine

I feel like I’ve gotten pretty good at reading Lila’s cues at this point and so our days are fairly stress-free. We don’t really follow a schedule, but I have been heeding the advice of “the baby whisperer” and keeping our daily routine to 2 1/2-3 hour cycles of wake-eat-play-sleep. The duration of the cycles varies a bit depending on how long Lila naps (I let her sleep as long as she wants – I don’t wake her to “keep her on schedule”), or if we go out, a cycle may get thrown off by no nap, but generally this is how her day is structured. It has helped immensely in figuring out whether her cries mean eat or sleep, and because of this, her spirits are generally very happy and contented throughout the day.

Lila’s nighttime sleep is fairly routined, as well. She goes to bed every night easily, usually between 6:30-7. Her longest sleep stretch is the first one, lasting about 5 hours, and after that she wakes every 2-3 hours to nurse, until she is awake for the day – which can be anywhere between 6-8am. I wish she would drop some of those nighttime feedings, but at least they are generally at the same time every night, so I know what to expect! She is at her happiest when she wakes up in the morning and is very content to coo in her rock n play until I’m more awake and ready to deal with the day. We snuggle in my bed until about 8:30 or so, and then get up and start our day, which usually means two episodes of “Yo Gabba Gabba” while I eat breakfast, check my email and jump in the shower. Our days generally consist of playing at home in the morning, and then in the afternoon, running an errand or two in the car, or going on a big walk somewhere.

Starting this past month, Eric and I have both gone back to work. We try to work at opposite times so that someone can always be home with Lila. When we can’t make that work, Eric’s mom, Marge has been helping us out with babysitting. Eric and I have been working on alternating bedtime duties, depending on who is working and who is not, and Eric has also been taking on a few hours of morning duty throughout the week so that I can see the chiropractor twice a week, and also so that I can get some exercise in. We keep track of everything on a joint Google calendar. Its a busy schedule, but its all working out nicely so far!

I think this happy face can attest: “So far, so good, Mom and Dad!”

Leave a Reply

