A New Chapter

Of all the difficulties that this tour has presented, the one thing that has made it all worthwhile to me is the fact that I met the most amazing guy out here and fell head over heels in love. We’ve had the opportunity to travel and work and play together and be there for each other through all the hardships that have been “Rock of Ages”. And now our journey is being made all the richer because we are adding plus one to it. I’m going to be a mama! We are so excited to be starting our family and are just itching to get back to New York so we can start making our life together.

We’ve seen our little munchkin three times now, via ultrasound, and each viewing just gets sweeter and sweeter. This week we heard the heartbeat for the first time, and let me tell you, I have never heard a more beautiful sound! We made a baby! A real baby!

I wasn’t sure if I was ever going to get the opportunity to be a parent, or to find true love, and so to have both fall into my lap this year is just a dream come true, and makes me feel so blessed and grateful everyday. Life is really good.

It hasn’t been easy to continue traveling around the country on this kind of a schedule while growing a baby, but thankfully it also hasn’t been too bad, either. I didn’t have any kind of morning sickness during my first trimester, which I thank the gods for, and so other than dealing with quite a bit of fatigue and being starving every 2-3 hours (my mom is convinced I am having a boy because of this) – I have really felt quite good.

We saw a doctor in San Francisco and one in San Antonio, but other than those two appointments, I have worked out my schedule so that I can get back to NYC to see my own doctor for all other appointments. We saw her a couple of weeks ago and it was reassuring to figure out a plan with her on managing this pregnancy while still traveling. The tour ends in July, right around my 22nd week, and I’ll be back in New York for good after that. No more traveling for a while!

It’s such a relief to finally be able to tell everyone and share the happy news! It gets exhausting having to come up with excuse after excuse for not going out drinking every night with my tour buddies or why I can’t go out with the girls and ride a mechanical bull 🙂

I am 13 weeks along and due November 21st (although the baby is measuring more like 14 weeks, so they may change my due date).

Thanks to everyone who has been such a support so far, especially my parents, Eric’s parents, my sister and Michele. I love you guys so much.

I’m so looking forward to getting back to writing here, now that there is more going on in my life than a just a show 🙂 I can write all about our next big adventure – parenthood! Only a few weeks left on the road, and soon we will be back home and able to switch our focus to what’s really important – love and family. I plan on taking some time off from working but hope to get back to stage-managing in New York City next spring or summer. I am ecstatic about getting some time to just be a mom. Eric is going to be doing production on the next incarnation of the “Rock of Ages” tour, but then he will be back in NYC and is hoping to start working locally. After the baby is born, we are likely moving to the ‘burbs out on Long Island. Whoa! It will be quite a change after almost 10 years in the city, but I know we need more space and the proximity to Eric’s parents will be great. Plus a parking spot! Plus a yard! Plus a washing machine! And its only a 45 minute train ride to Times Square.

So that’s the news around here. Pretty awesome, huh?

And now, to introduce you to our munchkin:

Baby at 7 weeks

Baby at 10 weeks

Baby at 12 weeks

We are so happy!

5 thoughts on “A New Chapter

  1. Definitely you will need the washing machine and dryer. A yard is also a blessing. I am so happy for you both. It ain’t easy but it’s deeply, deeply rewarding. Wonderful news. x

  2. Many Congratulations – what an exciting journey you are on. I’m 16 years further along my parenting journey and it never gets boring. I’m looking forward to hearing all your adventures.
    Samantha

  3. What a cute little muffin! I’m so glad you’re feeling well. Can’t wait to read about your adventures. Theatre babies are the best. Congrats to you!!!

Leave a Reply

