Life in Los Angeles

The days have been lazily running together here, which has been so, so nice. I’ve been up early every day and filling my free time with lots of things that I love – sewing, knitting, watching movies, hiking and seeing friends. Not so much sightseeing – and that’s okay by me. I’ve just been living a normal life for once!

I’ve also been doing lots of planning for the next couple of months. I have all my housing booked through the end of the tour. After getting used to apartment living again I’ve decided that I really can’t bear to go back to a hotel, so I’ve managed to book vacation rentals for the rest of our engagements, except for San Jose. That’s okay – I can deal with one more hotel. In reality, there will be more than just one more hotel. We have a week off after our stay in Tucson, which I am in the process of planning what to do during that time – I’m thinking maybe a day or two in Sedona, then a few days at the Grand Canyon, and then maybe the weekend in Vegas. There’s also a cross-country trip to plan. That’s right! I’m driving across the country after we close in Costa Mesa, taking two weeks to get back to New York City, with stops along the way to visit friends. Really, all this travel planning has been the most exhausting part of the last three weeks in LA, which have otherwise been really relaxing. Oh, and I think I may have a sublet lined up for November in New York City, which, when it is all officially settled, will be a big load off my mind.

So back to things I’ve been doing here. I’ve been hiking a lot with Suzanne, one of our hair supervisors. We’ve been going out twice a week to check out the trails around town. We’ve hiked Runyon Canyon, Mount Hollywood and Verdugo Mountain (which almost killed us!). Its been a really great way to get some exercise, and to get a totally different perspective on Los Angeles.

Hiking Mount Hollywood

Hiking Mount Hollywood

Atop Verdugo Mountain

Atop Verdugo Mountain

Above the Hollywood sign

Above the Hollywood sign

I’ve spent some time with a couple of great friends. I’ve met up with Chris a few times – we went to Venice Beach on my first Monday off and then made dinner back at Chris’s house with his boyfriend, Sean. Chris and I also went fabric shopping in the Garment District at the palatial Michael Levine’s, and he took me to the Renegade Craft Fair (which was SO awesome!). I also met up with my friend Kathryn, who is in town working for the summer. Kathryn and I worked together at ACT and both moved to NYC around the same time. She left town for a few years to go to grad school, but now is back and I’m looking forward to hanging out with her lots when I am back in New York in the fall. Her job brought her to Santa Monica this summer until August. We met up for lunch at the Alcove Cafe in Los Feliz (which was so cute, and super delicious), and then we drove up to the Griffith Observatory and walked around for a bit.

Christopher at Venice Beach

Christopher at Venice Beach

Shopping in the Garment District

Shopping in the Garment District

Kathryn at the Observatory

Kathryn at the Observatory

Me at the Observatory

Me at the Observatory

There has also been lots of sewing happening! I have been continuing to meet up with Roy and Suzanne on Thursday afternoons at work to do some sewing in the wardrobe room under Roy’s tutelage. But there’s been lots of sewing at home, too. I’ve finished a set of placemats and napkins for Ryan, and two skirts from kits for myself. In “class” I finished an Amy Butler top – photos of that to come.  I’m so pleased that I actually made good on my word, and finally learned how to sew! I have been saying forever that I wanted to get one of the many talented wardrobe folks that I have worked with to teach me, and I finally did!

Placemat and napkin (part of a set of 8)

Placemat and napkin (part of a set of 8)

Clothkits skirt

Clothkits skirt

I’ve been enjoying the lifestyle here in LA so much – I know I probably wouldn’t like it in the winter (I do love the seasons on the east coast), but as far as summers go, LA is a pretty perfect place to spend one. I’ve been going to the farmer’s market in Hollywood every Sunday to stock up on fruits and veggies for the week, and have been spending a lot of time out on my sunny patio (as has Tallulah – she loves lying on the brick, or in the shade behind the plants).

At the Hollywood Farmer's Market

At the Hollywood Farmer's Market

Berries at the Farmer's Market

Berries at the Farmer's Market

Tallulah lounging on the patio

Tallulah lounging on the patio

Two outings that I have done that border on “sightseeing” were visiting The Grove, and also the Annenberg Space for Photography. The Grove is a beautiful outdoor mall – its smaller than I expected, but very pretty, with fountains and brick streets – I spent an afternoon walking around, partaking in some retail therapy 🙂 And the Annenberg Space for Photography is an awesome museum in Century City. Currently the exhibit is “Pictures of the Year International” – the winning photographs of the top photojournalism competition in the world. The photographs in that exhibit are astounding – the images are so full of emotion and story and power. Some of the images I don’t know how the photographer captured them without getting themselves killed. I spent a lot of time wandering through and then spent a good hour watching a couple of slideshows in their digital gallery. I so recommend going and seeing this exhibit if you are in LA – these photographers really do make good on their promise “to give the voiceless a voice.”

And that’s how life is going here. Oh yes, and there’s the show as well! It’s doing really well here – the audiences aren’t quite as rambunctious as San Francisco, but the houses have been full and appreciative.

I go back to the Bay Area for a few days this week for my brother’s kidney transplant (please keep he and my sister in your prayers for a smooth and quick recovery!) and then I’ll be back in LA for another five glorious weeks!

Leave a Reply

