Denver Revisited

So after flying from Spokane, I left Ryan at the Denver airport and got in a cab to downtown. Very, very strange and sad to be continuing on without him. Thank goodness it was Denver. We had a truncated week with a Wednesday opening (allowing the trucks to make the long drive from Spokane), and a rehearsal on Thursday, so down time would be limited. And in my down time I had plenty of people to see. Tiffany and Robin, two of my dearest friends from college, live in Denver – as well as Elaine, one of our former hair supervisors on the tour, as well as a couple of other friends. I knew I would at least be occupied throughout the week – and hopefully that would keep me distracted from being too upset about Ryan.

Our flight to Denver was later in the afternoon, so by the time I was checked in to the Residence Inn (a really nice one just a block up from the 16th Street Mall) all I really had time for was some dinner before bed. I walked around a little bit – it was really gorgeous and warm out – finally some summery weather!

On Tuesday I rented a car and did some grocery shopping, and then drove out to Red Rocks Park. Ryan and I had gone there the last time we played Denver and it is such a gorgeous place to go for an easy hike. There is a spectacular amphitheater there – I bet seeing a concert there is amazing. I had thought about going up to Estes Park or something more adventurous on my free Tuesday off, but in the end I just felt like taking it easy and not driving too far. It was lovely to walk around Red Rocks and take in the beautiful surroundings, without having to drive a million miles to get there! It was a very relaxing couple of hours.

DSC_0009

DSC_0018

DSC_0036

After spending a few hours walking around Red Rocks, I got back in the car and drove over to Cherry Creek Mall. Nothing like a little retail therapy to make me feel better! I bought a dress for our San Francisco opening and I love it!

On Wednesday I joined load-in at the Buell Theater. We played the Buell for three weeks back in 2007 and it is clean, modern, spacious and therefore, a very easy space to load into and play. It was nice to see some of the familiar stagehands – especially Al, the house prop guy, who is quite a character. He is almost 75 and still working – I think he looks like a little garden gnome.

It was a very easy day – we had so much time on our hands after our load-in responsibilities were complete, that we cleaned out our two stage management hampers – we got rid of a ton of stuff – spring cleaning! In the afternoon I was even able to go back to the hotel and relax for a couple of hours before the show.

The big news on Wednesday was that before the show, our general manager, Jeff Wilson, announced to the company that the “Spamalot” tour would be ending on October 18th in Costa Mesa. It really wasn’t a shock to anybody – we had all been hearing rumors for ages – and in fact, its sort of nice knowing when the end will be. We have a great schedule between now and then – all California cities, except for a week in Tucson in September. And the closing isn’t for another five months, so there is plenty of time between now and then to figure out what to do next. What will I do come October? – who knows? Time will tell. It may be nice to actually be home for the holidays!

Jeff treated the company to drinks at the Hotel Curtis after the show. I had a nice time talking to Paula and Matt, although it was a bit weird to be at a “Spamalot” function without Ryan.

On Thursday we had understudy rehearsal, and then following the evening show, John O’Hurley, who plays King Arthur, threw the company a party at Elway’s, a restaurant at the Ritz Carlton hotel. It was a really nice, low-key gathering, with really good food, and an unending supply of wine 🙂 I spent a long time talking with Ben Davis and Carissa, and before I knew it was much later than I had anticipated staying out. Needless to say, I was pretty tired the next morning.

Carissa and Alexa at Elway's

Carissa and Alexa at Elway's

I got up early on Friday to go and get my hair cut and colored. Unfortunately the first salon that I went to (and where I had an appointment), was not a good experience. The stylist seemed very confused and then very antagonistic towards me – so after a few minutes I got up and left. I called my friend Tiffany, who I was meeting later, and she recommended another salon out by the mall – I called them and they had an opening, so I went there and got a great cut and color. Tiffany picked me up there and I had a nice afternoon with her and her two kids – Ava and baby Seamus. We drove out to the zoo and had lunch and walked around for a few hours looking at all the animals with the kids. Seamus is a newborn – only born in February, so he slept the afternoon away, but I had a lot of fun catching up with Ava, who I think is one of the smartest, funniest kids I’ve ever met.

Ava

Ava

I was so exhausted by the time the show was over on Friday night, that I had to call it a night. Piper Arpan, one of our former swings, was in town, and was hosting a party at her fiance’s bar, but I just couldn’t do it. Too many parties in one week! It was a shame, because I really would have liked to have seen Piper, but I also needed to sleep really badly!

I got up early again on Saturday and met up with Tiffany, and our friend Robin, for breakfast. I went to college with Tiffany and Robin and lived with them both in the same dorm our freshman year. Tiffany and I also lived together for a year after college when we both moved back to the Bay Area. I love both these girls so much and I love that we are still friends. It was great catching up with them both.

Robin and Tiffany

Robin and Tiffany

We had two shows on Saturday. In between, I had lunch with Elaine, Jovon and Roy. Elaine was one of our hair supervisors for the first couple of years on the tour, and I just love her so much. She lives in Winter Park, so it was a fairly short trip for her to come down and see us. I really miss having her around, and it was nice to talk to her about everything that had gone on during the previous couple of weeks with Ryan and feel her support. I wish she was still out here on the road with us.

The two-show day was followed by a very festive shot night. Wayne Spellman, our wardrobe supervisor, was leaving to join the “Mamma Mia” tour (which is currently playing Hawaii), so his farewell shot night was a Hawaiian themed extravaganza with leis, palm trees, and lots of embarrassing pictures of Wayne taken over his two-year tenure on the tour (most were from the white trash party that he hosted in Toledo).

Wayne

Wayne

Carissa

Carissa

Darryl

Darryl

Jen and David

Jen and David

After shot night, we all headed over to the bar at the Curtis and had more drinks to celebrate Wayne. I ended up having another late night, chatting with the Suttons and Elaine. It was a fun send-off for Wayne – a couple of the girls and Matthew Greer even wore hula skirts to the bar!

Sarah, David, Alexa and Carissa in Hawaiian wear at the bar

Sarah, David, Alexa and Carissa in Hawaiian wear at the bar

On Sunday, we all wore ties backstage for the evening show in honor of Wayne (who often wears a tie to work). It was sad to say goodbye to him, but we’re all happy for him that he’s going off to such a great gig.

And so after the evening show it was time to pack up and finally head west to San Francisco. I have been waiting so long to finally go back to my hometown with a show – I was beyond excited. Not only was I heading home, but for seven whole weeks! I could not wait to get there!

DSC_0007

One thought on “Denver Revisited

  1. That picture of you at the end could be used in a travel brochure for San Fran. Adorable.

    Did you get the picture I took of Ryan, Tanya and me today?

Leave a Reply

