A Couple of Finished Projects

I finished some knit items a few weeks ago but haven’t had a chance to take any good photos until now. I just bought a tripod for my cameras, and taking self-portraits is soooo much easier now! Speaking of self-portraits, the first project that I have started is called “365 days” – you take a self-portrait of yourself every day for a year and post your shots on Flickr – there is a group called “365 Days”. It is a very cool project and so many people are taking some awesome photos. I heard about it because many knit bloggers are also taking part. I thought it would be a great way to learn some more about photography. The guys that started the project also do a video podcast called 365 Days where they show different photographic techniques. 

If you’re interested in checking out the project, the link to the group on Flickr is:

http://www.flickr.com/groups/365days/pool/

My 365 photo set is found at:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/francescarussell/sets/72157604292683503/ 

Here’s my favorite shot one week in – driving to Birmingham, Alabama:

The other projects are knitting and crochet-related. I finished my first crocheted garment! Here it is:

“Cupcake” by Laura-Jean Bernhardson, from “The Happy Hooker”. Made  with Peru Pakucho Organic Cotton in Green Forest colorway. Size K hook. 

The pattern was very easy to follow – there are some errata, which can be found on the Stitch’n’Bitch website. The only modifications I made to the pattern were to only do one scalloped row as the edging for each sleeve, and to do two scalloped rows to edge the neckline. I used a suede cord rather than ribbon to accent the neck.

The yarn is fantastic – very soft and drapy. I will definitely use it again for other projects.

The top worked up very quickly and was a lot of fun to make – I’m very proud of it, being my first real crocheted piece!

I also finished a neckwarmer – the pattern I found on Ravelry. 

Made with 2 skeins of School Products Merino/Cashmere/Angora on Size 10 needles. 

A very simple pattern – this will come in handy once fall comes…or maybe once we hit Dayton!

* * * * *

So we are in Birmingham, AL now – and there’s not a whole lot going on here! More on that in the next post…

Leave a Reply

