Denver Round-up

With Ryan at Oktoberfest

With Ryan at Oktoberfest

So – Denver. My last week was mostly spent catching up with all my old friends who have coincidentally ended up in Denver. Wednesday evening I had drinks with Janann, who I worked with in the Bay Area at ACT and Shakespeare Santa Cruz. Janann is now the associate production manager at the Denver Center. We met for drinks at Rock Bottom where I also met a couple of friends of hers that work with her at the Denver Center. Janann and I had a great time catching up and reminiscing about ACT.

Thursday I had lunch with Tiffany, one of my college roommates, and her daughter Ava. We rode bikes over to Pearl Street, which is near Tiff’s house, and had lunch at a really cute bistro. Ava is just about the cutest, smartest two-year-old I have ever met, and totally charmed the pants off me. Unfortunately, for some reason I had an aversion to my camera last week, and didn’t take a single photo of any of my friends, can you believe it? I did manage to get a cute picture of Ava with my cell phone, though.

While I was at Tiffany’s, she received an email from Monique, another dear friend from college, who had just given birth to her third child, Jack. Congratulations, Mokie!

Thursday and Friday saw a visit to “Spamalot” from our associate director, Peter Lawrence, and our resident director, B.T. McNichol. We had a brush-up rehearsal on Friday with the both of them, which is always a nice way to re-invigorate the show.

Thursday night, our sound guy, Cuz, invited a small group of us to play mini golf at a secret underground course across the street from the Buell. It is a course that was built over twelve years ago by some of the stagehands working at the Denver Center. You have to be invited to play, and in order to get to the course, you are led through a labyrinth of crawl space in the trap room under one of the theaters in the Denver Center. The course is built from old scenery and props underneath one of the stages. It is called “The Aloha Seven” (there are seven holes), and it is amazing.

Cuz posing for a photo

Cuz posing for a photo

Ryan at the first hole - the volcano

Ryan at the first hole - the volcano

Ryan

Ryan

Nigel

Nigel

Mike taking a shot

Mike taking a shot

On Friday night a group of us went back to Oktoberfest and danced up a storm to polka music. It was a blast.

Saturday morning I met up with Robin for breakfast at the Rocky Mountain diner. Robin was the first person I ever met at UCSD, where I went to college. We met at orientation the June before we started our freshman year. When I showed up at the dorm in September, I was excited to find that she was in the same suite as me! Robin and her husband, Steve, have been on quite a journey the last couple of years. Steve has been in seminary studying to be a minister and they have been traveling a lot working and studying. Now Steve is set with a parish in Denver, and I think they are relieved to be in one place, and that it is such a great city to be able to settle down in. It was so nice seeing Robin, as it has been rare since graduation from college for us to have the opportunity to get together. She’s an amazing, giving soul and I miss her! I love you, Robin!

Saturday between shows, I met up with my former boss from ACT, Ed Lapine, who is now production manager at the Denver Center. We went out for Mongolian BBQ and Ed told me all about the three week hike that he did last summer through the Sierras with Ed Raymond, who used to be the technical director at ACT. The photos he had looked amazing and it sounds like they had a great time. It was so nice to see Ed – he’s one of my favorite production managers that I have ever worked for. We had a lot of fun back in San Francisco while at ACT. Maybe I’ll have the opportunity to work with him again someday!

We closed and loaded the show out on Sunday and flew to Seattle yesterday. I had a wonderful time in Denver, catching up with old friends, and visiting the beautiful mountains. I look forward to going back!

I think the next three weeks in Seattle are also going to be nice. Seattle is a great town – it reminds me a lot of San Francisco. Ryan and I scored a fantastic apartment – stunningly decorated with a patio and view of the water and the mountains.  We have a lot of rehearsal coming up and will be training a stage management sub (my friend Lisa), as Ken leaves soon for Australia, but hopefully I will still find time for some exploring!

Leave a Reply

