Lacy Skirt with Bows

This pattern is from “Greetings from the Knit Cafe” and was created by Kat Coyle. The yarn is Daktari cotton in the colorway Cappuccino. Made on size 5 needles. I used about 5 skeins of yarn.

I had read a lot about the skirt and the yarn before starting the project, and so I knew the color of the yarn could vary quite drastically from skein to skein, even in the same dye lot. I decided to alternate skeins every other row, and I am happy with the result – the color is very even.

I love the feel and the drape of the cotton, and I adore the pattern – it is a very wearable skirt, as both casual everyday, and more dressed up. The only thing I would do differently if I were to make this skirt again, is to go down a needle size to make a tighter fabric. The loose knit allows quite a lot of light through, so I have to wear a slip underneath.

As for modifications, I knit the pattern exactly as written, except for using ribbon instead of yarn for the waistband and to thread through the eyelets. I also decided to go for two bows on the sides, rather than six bows all the way around.

All in all, I am very pleased with the end result. Too bad the weather is getting too cold to wear it!

I also finished one other project – the Halfdome hat from Knitty.com for Ryan. I am also making one for Karl. Have to keep all the bald heads warm! 
I went to two yarn shops in Denver this week – The Lamb Shoppe  and I Love Knitting. Both are great shops and have great selections. I managed to drop over $200 on yarn. I have a couple of sweaters I want to make this winter. 
Now I am working on the Indigo Ripples skirt, another Kat Coyle pattern, Karl’s Halfdome hat, as well as the sweaters Juliet, and The Tilted Duster from this fall’s Interweave. I’ve got my work cut out for me!
2 thoughts on “Lacy Skirt with Bows

Leave a Reply

