Park City, Utah… a bit of heaven on earth.

I left Park City this morning as the sun was rising and drove to the Salt Lake City airport to fly to Denver. I will miss Park City – our sweet little ski condo and the most beautiful natural surroundings that I have seen in a long time. I wish we had gotten one more week to spend there – two just wasn’t enough. 

Last Sunday night Karl (our company manager) hosted a crew dinner to say goodbye to Keith Reese, our beloved head carpenter, and to say hello to Justin, our new head carpenter, who joins us from “Wicked” LA. We had a private room at Spencer’s Steakhouse, which is the restaurant adjacent to the Hilton in Salt Lake City. It was so nice to hang with everyone outside of work. We really do have the BEST crew on this show. When everyone is just relaxed and enjoys each other, it is just the best dynamic. If only we could all try harder to not let the stresses of the show get the better of us and get along like we did on Sunday night all the time! I hope we can have get togethers like that one more often, I think it really did enforce the fact that we are all a team and a family – it wouldn’t hurt to be reminded of that more often.

It was dark in Spencer’s, so my pictures came out kind of crappy, but here’s a couple of good ones:

Wayne, Fran and Roy - our wardrobe dept.

Wayne, Fran and Roy - our wardrobe dept.

Elaine,  Suzanne and Mitchell - our hair dept.

Elaine, Suzanne and Mitchell - our hair dept.

The boys chowing down

The boys chowing down

I flew on Monday to Sunnyvale for a short visit with my family. My youngest brother, Simon, is leaving soon for London, where he will be attending graduate school at the London School of Economics (smarty pants). Because Simon has some of the wanderlust that I do, I figured I had better make some time to see him before he left, because who knows when we will be in the same place at the same time again anytime soon. Coincidentally, my Granny is also in Sunnyvale right now visiting my family, so we decided to surprise her with my visit.

She was definitely surprised. “What are you doing here?!” was her response! It was really great to catch her by surprise – and seeing that my brother Nick had been in town that weekend, Granny also managed to see all four of her grandkids during her trip! I had lunch at home with my parents, Granny and Simon. I mostly hung out at the house in the afternoon (I love my parents’ house – its the house where I grew up – the doors are always open and the backyard is so inviting. It makes me instantly relax)…but I did sneak out for about an hour to go to a yarn shop in Los Altos called Uncommon Threads. They had a lot of beautiful yarn – mostly Rowan. I didn’t buy anything for myself, but picked up two issues of Interweave Crochet for my mom, who is trying to get back into crocheting again (see a photo of the wedding dress she made herself on Patty’s blog)

I did pick up some ribbon at Michael’s Craft Store, though, to finish off my Lacy Skirt with Bows.

We had dinner at Cicero’s, the world’s best pizza place, where I have been going since I was eight years old. My sister Becky and her husband, Dave, met us there. It was really great to see them.

Becky, Granny, Mummy, Fran

Becky, Granny, Mummy, Fran

Simon, Dave and Daddy

Simon, Dave and Daddy

Cicero's Baker's Pride - the best pizza EVER

Cicero's Baker's Pride - the best pizza EVER

After dinner, we went back to the house for some yummy tiramisu that my mom had made, and then I headed out to see my other brothers and sisters – my best friends from forever – Mary, Fin, Erika, Craig, Bryan, and Fin’s fiance, Mike (yes, fiance – CONGRATULATIONS GUYS!!!!!). We hung out at Mary’s and drank beer and watched the 49er game like no time had passed. I love those guys like family – we’ve been friends for almost twenty years now, if that’s not family, what is? My pictures from Mary’s didn’t turn out so well (Mare, you have to send me yours!), but here’s a couple of pictures of us from last summer so you can put faces with the names. 

Mary, David, me and Bryan

Mary, David, me and Bryan

Mike and Jen

Mike and Jen

Craig, Bryan and David

Craig, Bryan and David

The only person I don’t have a digital photo of is Erika (she was in Brazil last summer when the above photos were taken. Rats!). And David is living in Hawaii so we didn’t get to hang out with him the other night, but he was definitely in our thoughts! I love you guys. Mofos forever!

After breakfast with my mom and grandma on Tuesday, Simon drove me to the airport and I headed back to Salt Lake City just in time for dinner and the evening show.

On Wednesday Ryan and I drove the “Alpine Loop” through the mountains to the Sundance Resort, which is owned by Robert Redford, and p.s… is amazing. We rode the ski lift and got some great scenic pictures. The leaves are starting to turn in Utah, and the colors are just stunning. We ate lunch at the Foundry Grill and walked around the grounds before heading back to the car to complete the loop through the mountains.

Taken from the lift:

The Foundary Grill

The Foundry Grill

A little boy wading in the creek

A little boy wading in the creek

Sundance was amazing – spectacularly beautiful and peaceful. You can stay in cabins there as well as ski there, but it is also host to many creative projects as well – there is a pottery on site and a glassblower, and many paintings and photographs are on display in the gallery for sale. The Sundance Institute workshops new plays and films, and the Sundance Film Festival, which takes place in Park City in February, is a celebration of indie films. There was a quote by Robert Redford on the wall at the resort that struck both Ryan and I:

This place in the mountains, amid nature’s casualness toward death and birth, is the perfect host for the inspiration of ideas: harsh at times, life threatening in its winters of destruction, but tender in attention to the details of every petal of every wildflower resurrected in the spring. Nature and creativity obey the same laws, to the same end: life.

– Robert Redford

I think that’s maybe why I love the mountains and the ocean so much. They just put things in perspective with their size and greatness. They remind you that you are blessed to be alive.

The drive back to Salt Lake past Mount Timpaganos was equally spectacular and we were afraid we might be late getting back, but we made it to work by the skin of our teeth.

Thursday we bade goodbye to Keith Reese, our head carpenter. He’s been so kind and generous to me since I started the tour. I will miss him a lot. We all wore Hawaiian shirts in his honor.

After the show, Ryan and I went to one of the Park City local bars, the No Name Saloon, with Steve and Elaine. It was a pretty cool bar – a bit too loud, but had all sorts of interesting objects hanging from the ceiling, from a 1942 Harley, to an old-fashioned toboggan.

Friday we hit some of the outlet stores on the outskirts of Park City, and bought some new shoes. Ryan also bought a cool tie with skulls on it. We also drove through Olympic Park, although it was starting to rain, so we didn’t get out of the car. We did see the huge ski jumps though – it must be pretty amazing to see skiers jumping off them in the winter.

This past weekend, we made sure to make a stop at another of my favorite western U.S. restaurants…Rubio’s Fish Tacos!

Yum! I don’t know why it is so hard to find a good fish taco east of the Rockies!

And finally on Sunday, we said goodbye to Siobhan, one of our chorus girls, who is leaving the show to head back to the Big Apple and get hitched to her boy, Jordan. It’s strange because Siobhan’s first performance was three days after I started with the tour. It’s weird to have been with the tour long enough that people who started when I did are leaving.

We’ll miss you Siobhan!

And so here I am in Denver. I will miss you, Park City. Thank you for the lovely peaceful two weeks.

….And Tallulah will miss her spiral staircase.

One thought on “Park City, Utah… a bit of heaven on earth.

  1. Wow – love that Park CIty photo!

    Uncommon Threads is a great store. Funny how local pizza feels like home… but when I’m up there, I HAVE to have Pizza Chicago… it’s a must!

Leave a Reply

