Hot-lanta

Well, true to my word I have been laying low since arriving in Atlanta. After a week of doing so many things in Memphis, I really want to just take it easy here in Atlanta. We travelled on Monday and I think the week in Memphis had also caught up with Tallulah. She was a bit more fussy at the airport (which for her just means crying a bit in her bag in the waiting area and trying more than usual to get out of the bag when I unzipped it to pet her). The flight was short and sweet though and so we were checked into the hotel in Atlanta by 1:30pm or so.

The hotel here is great. A lot of people have complained that the rooms are too small or girly, but I love my room. It feels so much like a bedroom – and much less like a hotel room. In fact, the color scheme is much like my bedroom in New York, which is maybe why I feel so comfortable in it!

My bedroom in New York

My bedroom in New York

My hotel room in Atlanta

My hotel room in Atlanta

The hotel is the Hotel Indigo, and it is right across the street from the theater, which is another major plus. The room here just feels very calming. It’s clean, cute, and besides having the most comfortable bed I’ve had yet on the tour, it has a CD player that plays your choice of ocean, brook, wind or  forest while you sleep. How cool is that? (I choose ocean).

The lobby is also very cute and has a restaurant/bar that serves really good food and cocktails, and also Starbucks coffee. Oh yeah!

So as you can imagine, I haven’t had much want to leave the room yet.

Tuesday, as usual, was all day load-in. The Fox Theater here is beautiful. It has a Moroccan theme inside and feels like the Moroccan restaurant at Epcot, or the Venetian hotel in Vegas. Here are a couple of pictures:

  

The theater is enormous – its seats almost 4500 people. The challenge of it, though, is that it used to be a movie house, so although the stage is very wide, it is also very shallow, which does not allow us to have a crossover upstage of the set. I spent a lot of the day Tuesday, putting my head together with the wardrobe crew and Callie, our dance captain, figuring out when actors and crew would be able to cross upstage of the set (when the castle was downstage and doors shut), and when they would have to go down to the basement and cross over. As you can imagine, having to go down to the basement and cross over takes a lot longer than crossing onstage up of the set, so it does affect some people’s costume changes. My brain was hurting by the time we hit sound check, but the show went amazingly smoothly and I felt pretty good about our strategizing at the end of the day!

Yesterday I did venture out and walk around a bit. Atlanta seems to be a bit of a strange town in that it is spread out and because much of it was burned down during the Civil War, it is a town with a lot of history, but not many old buildings. I walked to the downtown area which was your typical urban center, but not particularly upscale (i.e. not really any good shopping!). I also walked by the Margaret Mitchell house and Gone with the Wind museum, which I think I will hit on Friday. I did finally manage to track down a subway map – they are hard to come by! So, I think next week I will try and visit the High Museum, which is an art museum, Piedmont Park, Martin Luther King’s birthplace, and maybe check out the neighborhoods of Buckhead and Virginia Highland.

Here’s a couple of pictures from my walk yesterday:

Gladys Knight's Chicken and Waffles

Gladys Knight's Chicken and Waffles

An arch downtown

An arch downtown

The Georgian Terrace hotel

The Georgian Terrace hotel

The exterior of the Fox

The exterior of the Fox

I also had a serious moment of enlightenment yesterday when I finally read the instruction manual of my digital camera after owning it for over a year. I had been so frustrated lately with  all the pictures I had been taking in low light situations that I was seriously considering getting a new camera. Finally I pulled out my camera’s manual to see if there was any way to adjust the white balance and lo and behold, there is! I still have some more reading to do, but already the photos I took last night have more vivid color and are brighter than any of the others I have taken previously. Yay! I do still want to get a new camera eventually (one that is not necessarily pocket-sized and is more professional in nature – I want to learn more about photography), but for now, my little Powershot will be okay.

Finally, I just wanted to share a picture of the mighty Wurlitzer at the Fox. It is played before the show every night for about 45 minutes while the audience is being seated. It is very cool.

And of course, a new city would not be complete without new outfits for Kitty and Baby – they are Rhett Butler and Scarlett O’Hara!

Now I am off to rehearsal. Jonathan Brody, who is taking over for Justin Patterson (weep weep) at the end of Atlanta (Justin is one of our original male ensemble who is heading back to NYC and getting married) started with us this week, so we are rehearsing him every day to get him up to speed.

More soon though from ATL…

One thought on “Hot-lanta

Leave a Reply

