Land of Golf Courses and Old People

Well, I guess golf courses and old people are to Naples what strip clubs and steakhouses are to Tampa. Naples is a very upscale wealthy area – definitely geared to the retired. We are staying on a golf resort about 15 miles from the theater. The accomodations are beautiful. The picture above was taken from our porch at sunrise. I have an amazing master suite with the most comfortable bed I’ve had yet on this tour, and a huge whirlpool tub. I’m sharing a two-bedroom condo with Jeff Klein, one of our company managers. The place is huge. It’s too bad we are not staying here longer than a week.

     

We arrived here on Monday and I met up with Brian for dinner at a really good Mexican place on 5th Avenue South, which is the “downtown” area of Naples. It is an upscale street filled with restaurants and boutiques. We wandered around a bit and then headed home to get some rest before load-in in the morning.

Tuesday I met Jovon Shuck, our new ASM who will be taking over for Brian. He seems really nice – I sort of feel for him that he has to learn the show in a theater where we are only staying for a week. I was lucky to learn in Detroit where I had four weeks to get really comfortable with the show before we moved next and I had to teach a new crew the show. Jovon will have a week before having to teach stage left to a new crew in Memphis on Tuesday. 

The theater here in Naples is really small – only about 1500 seats and is designed to be a concert hall, so we are very cramped backstage. The proscenium is also very low so our drops don’t fit all that well in the space.

Along with Jovon, we are also training a new stage right prop guy, Steve, as Josh is leaving to join “The Color Purple” tour. In addition, six of the eight local wardrobe crew here have never worked backstage before. Needless to say, the first night was a bit chaotic backstage…but, we met Judge Judy afterwards! She’s a resident of Naples.

There’s not much in terms of sightseeing here in Naples, but yesterday I did head out to the beach, which is stunning. I also felt unusually attractive in my swimsuit as everyone on the beach was over seventy!

It was eighty degrees here yesterday which made for an amazing beach day, but unfortunately I fell asleep and ended up with quite a sunburn. Oh well, I had to make the most of my last beach day for a while. It is supposed to snow in Memphis next Thursday – that will be quite a shock to all of us after being in shorts for a month.

The condos here are so nice that we have all mostly been hanging out here at the resort. Plus driving around here is maddening because all the old people drive so SLOWLY! It takes forever to get anywhere! Tuesday night I went next door to Karl and Ben’s for margaritas and Wednesday night Ryan and Brian and I drank beers on my porch. We look directly out on to the golf course from our patio. At nighttime it is so tempting to streak naked out there. I was talking to Callie, who lives above me about that and she laughed because she and Amy, her roommate, had had the exact same thought. Maybe some debauchery will be had before we leave on Sunday…

Finally, we now have a Spamatruck!

We travel with eight trucks full of scenery, props, costumes, trunks, etc. and now one of the trucks sports the logo! Pretty cool, right?

Leave a Reply

