Merry Christmas from Detroit!

Crazy Christmas house

Crazy Christmas house

So I had a fairly mellow Christmas, which was nice. On Christmas Eve I went out for steak with Christopher Gurr (Bedevere), who I’ve known for almost ten years now, believe it or not! He is the boyfriend of my friend Karen, who I used to work with at San Jose Rep. It’s so great to be working with him all these years later! We were also joined for dinner by Robert Petkoff, who plays Robin, and his wife Susan. It was a delicious dinner, but the strange Michigan blue laws came into effect at 9:30pm when all the wine was taken away from our table! Apparently from 9:30p on Christmas Eve through all day Christmas (and on Sundays), no alcoholic beverages can be purchased at retail stores or restaurants. I had heard about this, but didn’t think they would take our half-full glasses away from us at the table!

Christmas day was spent hanging out with Tallulah at the hotel, watching movies and practicing the call of “Spamalot” (which I have to do for real on Thursday), and then last night I met up with a couple of people to see “Dreamgirls”, which was fantastic, and so perfect to be viewed in Detroit, as that is where the story is based.

This is how Tallulah spent her Christmas:

On my way to the movies, I stopped by this crazy house on 12 Mile Road that Brian had told me about. If you thought the house in National Lampoon’s “Christmas Vacation” was bad, check this out:

Pretty amazing, right?

Last week I did a bit of exploring nearer to where we are staying in Troy. Tanya had told me that there was some good shopping in Birmingham, which is about a ten to fifteen minute drive from Troy, so I went over and checked it out. It is such a cute area!

        

These pictures actually don’t do it much justice, so you’ll just have to trust me that it was a nice welcomed place to walk around after the desolation of downtown Detroit.

On Friday night, we all went out to karaoke to celebrate Naomi and Kevin’s 30th birthdays (they are both ensemble members). The bar was hilarious – very redneck crowd. They were of course a tad intimidated by the singing chops of some of our group.

Tony knocking one back

Tony knocking one back

Piper, Esther and Rick

Piper, Esther and Rick

And finally, today of course I got in my first, and probably not my last fender bender. I scraped a pole in the parking lot at Barnes and Noble and the whole back bumper fell off the rental Camry. What a piece of crap! I managed (after quite a bit of trouble) to shove the bumper in the backseat and get it back to Avis to trade for another car. But unfortunately not in time to make it downtown to see the matinee of “White Christmas” that I was hoping to catch. Oh well.

I hope everyone who reads this had a fantastic holiday!

Leave a Reply

