Back in NYC

So “A Christmas Carol” finally opened last Friday and with opening night, I also called my last performance! Rachel, my replacement, joined us last Tuesday and starting calling on Saturday, the show after opening. So strange to open a show and leave it two days later!

The party for opening was fun – we all went to a restaurant called Vivo at the Marriott and took advantage of our free drink tickets and then went back to Steve French’s apartment and stayed up way too late drinking cheap beer and wine. Bill’s dog Cooper joined the party for a little while and when he went home to bed, Tallulah came over and hung out. She really is getting quite accustomed to other people now, which is great. Steve French even asked for her phone number, he was so taken with her!

A couple of the young actors at the opening night party - Stephanie, Kristin and Emily - cute, right?

A couple of the young actors at the opening night party - Stephanie, Kristin and Emily - cute, right?

And a triumvirate of hot babes - Anna, Renee, and Natty

And a triumvirate of hot babes - Anna, Renee, and Natty

Saturday and Sunday were a blur of getting it together to leave Hartford. Some of the cast members took me out for drinks on Saturday night at the Goodwin Hotel, which was so nice. I’m going to miss everyone so much! It’s hard to believe that I was only in Hartford for four weeks, it seems like so much longer – especially since I feel like I’ve made some friendships there that are going to last past the close of the show, which is rare and wonderful.

A shot taken yesterday as the sleigh kids ONCE AGAIN rehearsed bringing the sleigh onstage in attempt to correct their drunken sleigh-ing which usually appears in performance

A shot taken yesterday as the sleigh kids ONCE AGAIN rehearsed bringing the sleigh onstage in attempt to correct their drunken sleigh-ing which usually appears in performance

And a couple of shots of the super-cute kids in the cast:

Abbi - "Cider Girl"

Abbi - who plays Cider Girl

John - "Turkey Boy"

John - who plays Turkey Boy

And finally a couple of shots of the awesome stage management team:

With Patti - one of the PAs

With Patti - one of the PAs

With Julien (ASM) and Alex (PA)

With Julien (ASM) and Alex (PA)

Now I am back in NYC and up to my ears in packing. It is a little overwhelming since I am the worst packer in the world. And I’m also putting a lot of stuff in storage – I thought it would only be a couple of boxes, but it turns out that I have A LOT of crap. I can’t wait until its all done and packed away.

I haven’t been able to get a whole lot of knitting done lately, but for Patty I have to post at least one picture of my slow progress on Clapotis:

Clapotis

Clapotis

Pretty right? I’ve done a couple of the drop-stitch rows, which are super fun. I think it will look great with a jeans jacket when it is done.

That’s it for now…off to do some more packing.

One thought on “Back in NYC

  1. The “clap” looks fab! Went to my first “Chicks with Sticks” knitting group. Very fun. Got on the muni going the wrong way on the way home, ah well. Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

